Technology-Headlines

by George Heymann

Why the LG G2X for T-Mobile will be my next smartphone!

by George Heymann

techeadlines@gmail.com

It’s an exciting time in the mobile space. The pace seems to be continuously accelerating with new announcements almost daily. It’s seemingly impossible to stay ahead of the next big thing in technology.  That’s why it is more important than ever to make smart upgrade choices. Given those parameters, let me share why I intend to make the LG G2X my next smartphone.

The LG G2X which is slated for a spring release on T-Mobile. It will be the network’s first dual-core phone.

The LG G2X will feature a 1GHz Tegra 2 processor. Other LG G2X key specifications include 4 inch WVGA capacitive touchscreen, a 8 megapixel rear-camera and a 1.3 megapixel front-camera, 512 MB RAM, 8 GB of internal storage that can be expanded via Micro SD card to 32GB, 1080p TV-out via HDMI (with HDMI mirroring), and a virtual multi-channel surround sound system.

If the great specs weren’t enough, the LG G2X is being released as a Google experience phone. This means that the phone will be released sans any custom UI’s that would hamper receiving future updates. The device is slated to launch with stock Android Froyo 2.2. A Gingerbread release is promised for the device in the near future.

I’ve never owned an LG phone before, but I’m already a big LG fan. I purchased an LG Blu-ray player the BD390 back in August of 2009 and its been a gem. It still works like the day I installed it and is still getting regular firmware updates to this date.

I know it’s not fair to equate smartphones to Blu-ray players but I can’t help but to give LG the nod given my previous experience with their products.

Also, T-Mobile and LG have future proofed this phone by including AT&T 3G bands, so that even if the pending merger goes through you will still be able to use this phone on the new combined network till the next update cycle rolls around.

No official launch date has been announced but the device is rumored to be available April 20 April 15.

Update 04/07/11 : T-Mobile confirms price and availability for LG G2X

Updated 04/25/11: T-Mobile LG G2X Review

Source: T-Mobile

.

Filed under: Android, Hardware, Preview, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses

  1. business daily says:

    Do we even need Windows Phone 7?.I am genuinely interested in your responses so be sure to comment either on the site or on Facebook… While it may feel like there was an eternity between Windows Mobile 6.5 and Windows Phone 7 there really was not.

    ED: I genuinely like Windows Phone 7, the Metro UI is attractive and fluid. The WP7 OS has a lot of potential but Microsoft seems to be doing everything it can to “muck” it up at every turn.

    As it stands today I can no longer recommend the platform. I do have hope that it will get better. Perhaps the infusion from Nokia will help? Perhaps you should take a look at the LG G2X that’s my next stop.

  2. John Swain says:

    I bought the lg g2x the day t mobile released it in Los Angeles. It exceeds my expectations. I personally reviewed every phone at CES Las Vegas in January 2011. I wanted an Android phone that was 4g. dual core, television, 8mp camera/camcorder, video conference, wi-fi hot-spot, tethering to my lap top and net book simultaneously. I wanted a phone that could could upgrade with the latest Google apps plus “Wallet.” It handles Google Earth flawlessly on a 1080p screen that HDMI’s to my TV. It was recognized immediately by my Cisco Linksys E4200 router for downloading and syncing to my other data bases. I got the 8 gig version rather than spend for 16 or 32 gigs. Why bother when “cloud” makes more sense for expanded files and making my data available to all my systems at the same time.

    • gheymann says:

      Hi John

      I also purchased the LG G2X on launch day. You can see my full review @ http://ht.ly/5fjTy . I too enjoy the G2X handset very much. Recently I rooted my phone and Installed Cyanogen Mod 7 which I just love. Thanks for your comments I appreciate hearing from the readers.

      Regards,

      geO-

  3. carynmoss says:

    Can we unlock these?

    • gheymann says:

      Hi

      Do you mean sim unlock? If so that depends on your standing with T-Mobile. If your account is in good standing you can get the sim-unlock code from them.

      If you meant can the phone be rooted? The answer is yes, and there are several custom roms to choose from.

  4. […]  Why the LG G2X for T-Mobile will be my next smartphone! […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Our Twitter Feed

Click to download our official Android App

Categories

